Link to the Home Page of the UniversityELTE TTK
Eötvös Loránd University - Faculty of Science

Titles & Degrees
Academic Ranks
Hungarian Names


Teaching of Physics started in the very first semester of the academic year 1635–1636. The Institute has had among its professors well known scientists as Loránd Eötvös (the equivalence of the gravitating and the inertial mass), György Hevesy (radioactive tracing, Nobel-Prize 1943), Károly Novobátzky (consistent quantization of the photon field), György Békéssy (physics of the ear, Nobel-Prize 1961), Lajos Jánossy (extended air showers in cosmic rays), Tibor Neugebauer (atomic and molecular physics) and Imre Fényes (irreversible thermodynamics and stochastic interpretation of quantum phenomena).